About Me

My name is Di. I am a 49 year old South African expat who has been living in Dubai for the past 16 years. I’m a mother to 3 children, life partner to a wonderful man, daughter, sister, aunt and friend.

I’m  also one of those woman who checked her breasts once in a while, skimmed through magazine articles about breast cancer and bought a pink ribbon every October. Breast cancer was something that happened to other woman and would never happen to me. Or so I thought.

I was first diagnosed with breast cancer in the left breast and axillary lymph nodes on the the 10th December 2014. On the 5th of July 2016 I was diagnosed with secondary breast cancer in my chest and, also in the subclavicular and mediastinal lymph nodes.

I begin treatment again on the 20th July 2016 only 7 weeks after completing the treatment for the initial diagnosis.

I count myself incredibly lucky to be surrounded by a family and friends, both near and far, and my fabulous PINKLadies. It is everyone’s constant love, support and encouragement that has carried me through some very tough days and will help me in days that are still to come.

I regret not having blogged about my story up until now, I tried several times but was never successful for one reason or another. I am however hoping that, through this blog, I will not only be able to keep all of my family and friends regularly updated but will also help raise awareness on how important it is to do regular check-ups and  so this disease can be diagnosed early. If I can help just one women achieve that I will be happy.

Much love always x

 

Advertisements